nagcollect.git
7 years agoRAID.tst: Add support for Promise Hardware-RAID
Alexander Barton [Fri, 10 Aug 2012 10:16:25 +0000 (12:16 +0200)]
RAID.tst: Add support for Promise Hardware-RAID

7 years agoRAID.tst: Support more than one RAID system per host
Alexander Barton [Fri, 10 Aug 2012 10:15:25 +0000 (12:15 +0200)]
RAID.tst: Support more than one RAID system per host

Now the status message and result code are aggregated.

7 years agoEnhance output of "nagcollecttest" script
Alexander Barton [Fri, 10 Aug 2012 08:52:19 +0000 (10:52 +0200)]
Enhance output of "nagcollecttest" script

Now it displays "NO result" when the test script didn't produce any
output and the nagcollect client wouldn't send anything to the server.

7 years agoInstall "nagcolltecttest" into /usr/local/sbin
Alexander Barton [Fri, 10 Aug 2012 08:51:41 +0000 (10:51 +0200)]
Install "nagcolltecttest" into /usr/local/sbin

7 years agoRAID.tst (Linux): don't report empty status when no RAID exists
Alexander Barton [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 10:40:03 +0000 (11:40 +0100)]
RAID.tst (Linux): don't report empty status when no RAID exists

8 years agoUpdate ChangeLog for release 3 rel-3
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 11:03:05 +0000 (12:03 +0100)]
Update ChangeLog for release 3

8 years agoMakefile: hide error message when no arch-specific tests exist
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 10:59:26 +0000 (11:59 +0100)]
Makefile: hide error message when no arch-specific tests exist

8 years agoMakefile: fix quoting of echo commands on "make install" ... oops.
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 10:58:50 +0000 (11:58 +0100)]
Makefile: fix quoting of echo commands on "make install" ... oops.

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of /srv/git/nagcollect
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 10:51:18 +0000 (11:51 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of /srv/git/nagcollect

* 'master' of /srv/git/nagcollect:
  Update ChangeLog for release 3
  Update README and INSTALL to describe active service checks
  Fix error message of wrapper script for active checks
  New make target "install-plugins"
  Use new make targets "server", "client", and "plugins"
  New make target "plugins" to generate active check scripts
  Add wrapper script for calling test scripts as active service checks
  Add .gitignore file
  Add "nagcollecttest" script
  RAID.tst: suppress warning and error messages

8 years agoUpdate ChangeLog for release 3
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 10:48:06 +0000 (11:48 +0100)]
Update ChangeLog for release 3

8 years agoUpdate README and INSTALL to describe active service checks
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 10:47:13 +0000 (11:47 +0100)]
Update README and INSTALL to describe active service checks

8 years agoFix error message of wrapper script for active checks
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:17:04 +0000 (12:17 +0100)]
Fix error message of wrapper script for active checks

8 years agoNew make target "install-plugins"
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:14:20 +0000 (12:14 +0100)]
New make target "install-plugins"

The plugins are installed to /usr/local/lib/nagios/plugins/.

8 years agoUse new make targets "server", "client", and "plugins"
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:13:37 +0000 (12:13 +0100)]
Use new make targets "server", "client", and "plugins"

8 years agoNew make target "plugins" to generate active check scripts
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:11:20 +0000 (12:11 +0100)]
New make target "plugins" to generate active check scripts

The generated active service checks are Nagios-compatible and stored
in the client/lib/nagios/plugins directory.

8 years agoAdd wrapper script for calling test scripts as active service checks
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:03:10 +0000 (12:03 +0100)]
Add wrapper script for calling test scripts as active service checks

This "wrapper script" consists of two parts, "top" and "bottom", which
must be executed before and after the passive service check script and
implement the regular Nagios check script conventions.

8 years agoAdd .gitignore file
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:02:07 +0000 (12:02 +0100)]
Add .gitignore file

8 years agoAdd "nagcollecttest" script
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 10:59:22 +0000 (11:59 +0100)]
Add "nagcollecttest" script

8 years agoRAID.tst: suppress warning and error messages
Alexander Barton [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 10:58:05 +0000 (11:58 +0100)]
RAID.tst: suppress warning and error messages

8 years agoDiskErrors.tst: same grep expressions for reboot/no-reboot case
Alexander Barton [Fri, 28 Oct 2011 09:57:34 +0000 (11:57 +0200)]
DiskErrors.tst: same grep expressions for reboot/no-reboot case

8 years agoDiskErrors.tst: Ignore "mdworker[]: file i/o error - bad dset location"
Alexander Barton [Wed, 19 Oct 2011 07:46:27 +0000 (09:46 +0200)]
DiskErrors.tst: Ignore "mdworker[]: file i/o error - bad dset location"

8 years agoHardwareInfo.tst: New test to display DMI/SMBIOS hardware information
Alexander Barton [Thu, 6 Oct 2011 14:46:17 +0000 (16:46 +0200)]
HardwareInfo.tst: New test to display DMI/SMBIOS hardware information

8 years agoAdd Makefile for installing the client on Linux
Alexander Barton [Thu, 6 Oct 2011 14:45:21 +0000 (16:45 +0200)]
Add Makefile for installing the client on Linux

8 years agoAdd CRON configuration file
Alexander Barton [Thu, 6 Oct 2011 14:43:57 +0000 (16:43 +0200)]
Add CRON configuration file

This CRON configuration file is suitable to be placed in
the /etc/cron.d directory.

8 years agoRAID.tst: enhance status output
Alexander Barton [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 09:20:01 +0000 (11:20 +0200)]
RAID.tst: enhance status output

8 years agoDiskErrors.tst: dont't assume "encoder error" as disk I/O error
Alexander Barton [Thu, 15 Sep 2011 08:00:47 +0000 (10:00 +0200)]
DiskErrors.tst: dont't assume "encoder error" as disk I/O error

8 years agoHardwareInfo.tst: new test to display Apple hardware serial numbers
Alexander Barton [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 13:17:13 +0000 (15:17 +0200)]
HardwareInfo.tst: new test to display Apple hardware serial numbers

8 years agoRename de.barton.nagcollect to de.barton.nagcollect.plist
Alexander Barton [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 13:15:42 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
Rename de.barton.nagcollect to de.barton.nagcollect.plist

The file extension ".plist" is required for LaunchDaemon configuration
files, so rename de.barton.nagcollect to de.barton.nagcollect.plist.

But we have to handle the old name as well to ease upgrades ...

8 years agoDiskErrors.tst: exclude false positive I/O error of mdworker
Alexander Barton [Wed, 24 Aug 2011 08:33:00 +0000 (10:33 +0200)]
DiskErrors.tst: exclude false positive I/O error of mdworker

8 years agoRAID.tst: report OK even if there is only 1 good Apple-HW-RAID volume ...
Alexander Barton [Tue, 9 Aug 2011 14:57:08 +0000 (16:57 +0200)]
RAID.tst: report OK even if there is only 1 good Apple-HW-RAID volume ...

8 years agoRAID.tst: Add support for Apple hardware RAID cards
Alexander Barton [Tue, 9 Aug 2011 14:47:49 +0000 (16:47 +0200)]
RAID.tst: Add support for Apple hardware RAID cards

8 years agoDon't exclude "." when extracting test scripts
Alexander Barton [Wed, 2 Mar 2011 11:21:38 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
Don't exclude "." when extracting test scripts

This makes no difference on Mac OS X 10.6, but prevents tar(1) on
Mac OS X 10.5 from extracting any file at all ...

Most probably the intention has been to exclude .DS_Store files.

8 years agoDisks.tst: Only check read-write volumes
Alexander Barton [Thu, 3 Feb 2011 15:46:03 +0000 (16:46 +0100)]
Disks.tst: Only check read-write volumes

8 years agoDisks.tst: don't gather information for unused variables
Alexander Barton [Thu, 3 Feb 2011 15:45:21 +0000 (16:45 +0100)]
Disks.tst: don't gather information for unused variables

9 years agoRAID.tst: fix wrong variable name in status text output
Alexander Barton [Wed, 10 Nov 2010 09:31:09 +0000 (10:31 +0100)]
RAID.tst: fix wrong variable name in status text output

9 years agoUptime.tst: detect new uptime string "* secs"
Alexander Barton [Thu, 4 Nov 2010 11:11:24 +0000 (12:11 +0100)]
Uptime.tst: detect new uptime string "* secs"

9 years agoUptime.tst: detect new uptime string "1 hr" ...
Alexander Barton [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 13:53:57 +0000 (15:53 +0200)]
Uptime.tst: detect new uptime string "1 hr" ...

9 years agoUptime.tst: detect new uptime string "<n> mins" ...
Alexander Barton [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 12:49:04 +0000 (14:49 +0200)]
Uptime.tst: detect new uptime string "<n> mins" ...

9 years agoSet /usr/local/lib/nagcollect to "world readable" after update
Alexander Barton [Mon, 20 Sep 2010 10:13:43 +0000 (12:13 +0200)]
Set /usr/local/lib/nagcollect to "world readable" after update

9 years agoUptime.tst: uptime "<n> hrs" is critical, because <1 day!
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 23:10:16 +0000 (01:10 +0200)]
Uptime.tst: uptime "<n> hrs" is critical, because <1 day!

9 years agoRAID.tst: only check RAID on Linux when /proc/md is readable
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 16:52:25 +0000 (18:52 +0200)]
RAID.tst: only check RAID on Linux when /proc/md is readable

9 years agoUpdated ChangeLog for release 2.1 rel-2.1
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 16:09:25 +0000 (18:09 +0200)]
Updated ChangeLog for release 2.1

9 years agoUptime.tst: detect new uptime string "<n> hrs"
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 16:08:14 +0000 (18:08 +0200)]
Uptime.tst: detect new uptime string "<n> hrs"

9 years agoUpdated ChangeLog for release 2 rel-2
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:53:40 +0000 (17:53 +0200)]
Updated ChangeLog for release 2

9 years agoUptime.tst: test for uptime >1 day on Mac OS X Server
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:52:21 +0000 (17:52 +0200)]
Uptime.tst: test for uptime >1 day on Mac OS X Server

<1 day results in error, <2 days results in warning.

9 years agoUptime.tst: update copyright notice and reformat code ...
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:36:05 +0000 (17:36 +0200)]
Uptime.tst: update copyright notice and reformat code ...

9 years agoUpdated copyright notice in Makefile
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:23:42 +0000 (17:23 +0200)]
Updated copyright notice in Makefile

9 years agoNew Makefile targets: "osxpkg" and "osxdmg"
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:21:35 +0000 (17:21 +0200)]
New Makefile targets: "osxpkg" and "osxdmg"

 - osxpkg builds an Mac OS X multi-package (.mpkg)
 - osxdmg creates an disk image (.dmg) from the multi-package

9 years agoDistribution archive now is named "NagCollect-R<rel>.tar.gz"
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:20:25 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
Distribution archive now is named "NagCollect-R<rel>.tar.gz"

The current release number is extracted from the ChangeLog file.

9 years agoAdded ChangeLog file
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 15:19:45 +0000 (17:19 +0200)]
Added ChangeLog file

9 years agofix-usr-local.sh: Set owner and group as well as permissions
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 14:45:41 +0000 (16:45 +0200)]
fix-usr-local.sh: Set owner and group as well as permissions

9 years agoMac OS X package: fix permissions of files installed in /usr/local
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 14:43:59 +0000 (16:43 +0200)]
Mac OS X package: fix permissions of files installed in /usr/local

Run the contrib/fix-usr-local.sh script after installing nagcollect,
nagcollect.conf and the test scripts to fix file and folder permissions.

9 years agoAdded contrib/fix-usr-local.sh to fix permissions of /usr/local/
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 13:54:00 +0000 (15:54 +0200)]
Added contrib/fix-usr-local.sh to fix permissions of /usr/local/

This script fixes the permissions of directories and files installed
by NagCollect below /usr/local.

9 years agoNagCollect is licensed under the terms of the GNU General Public License
Alexander Barton [Wed, 1 Sep 2010 13:52:05 +0000 (15:52 +0200)]
NagCollect is licensed under the terms of the GNU General Public License

This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
(at your option) any later version.
Please read the file COPYING, README and AUTHORS for more information.

9 years agoMac OS X RAID check: handle more than one software RAID system
Alexander Barton [Fri, 20 Aug 2010 13:40:36 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
Mac OS X RAID check: handle more than one software RAID system

9 years agoDon't include Mac OS X resource forks in tar archives
Alexander Barton [Fri, 20 Aug 2010 13:40:03 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
Don't include Mac OS X resource forks in tar archives

9 years agoAdd support for nagcollectreset to tests/Darwin/DiskErrors.tst
Alexander Barton [Wed, 21 Apr 2010 12:07:23 +0000 (14:07 +0200)]
Add support for nagcollectreset to tests/Darwin/DiskErrors.tst

9 years agoNew "nagcollectreset" tool to restrict/reset test status
Alexander Barton [Wed, 21 Apr 2010 12:05:41 +0000 (14:05 +0200)]
New "nagcollectreset" tool to restrict/reset test status

All test scripts should only consider the system status starting
the moment this tool is executed and ignore all older states.

9 years agoDisk Usage: check for percentage and value; better output
Alexander Barton [Fri, 5 Feb 2010 17:28:23 +0000 (18:28 +0100)]
Disk Usage: check for percentage and value; better output

9 years agoNew "Disks" test that checks the free space of filesystems
Alexander Barton [Fri, 5 Feb 2010 16:37:32 +0000 (17:37 +0100)]
New "Disks" test that checks the free space of filesystems

9 years agoMigrated Disks.tst (I/O errors) to Darwin/Disks.tst
Alexander Barton [Fri, 5 Feb 2010 16:32:30 +0000 (17:32 +0100)]
Migrated Disks.tst (I/O errors) to Darwin/Disks.tst

9 years agoService update: log the IP address of the peer in the host status field
Alexander Barton [Thu, 21 Jan 2010 13:53:46 +0000 (14:53 +0100)]
Service update: log the IP address of the peer in the host status field

9 years agoLog all non-OK status codes to syslog
Alexander Barton [Thu, 21 Jan 2010 12:27:42 +0000 (13:27 +0100)]
Log all non-OK status codes to syslog

Logging to the Apache error log has been removed.

9 years agoINSTALL: Call "launchctl" with root privileges, use sudo
Alexander Barton [Thu, 21 Jan 2010 12:20:53 +0000 (13:20 +0100)]
INSTALL: Call "launchctl" with root privileges, use sudo

9 years agoTest Linux software RAID (md devices)
Alexander Barton [Wed, 13 Jan 2010 21:42:17 +0000 (22:42 +0100)]
Test Linux software RAID (md devices)

9 years agoDon't extract ._* and . from tests archive
Alexander Barton [Wed, 13 Jan 2010 21:41:53 +0000 (22:41 +0100)]
Don't extract ._* and . from tests archive

9 years agoMore specific test for I/O errors on Mac OS X
Alexander Barton [Mon, 11 Jan 2010 09:32:22 +0000 (10:32 +0100)]
More specific test for I/O errors on Mac OS X

9 years agoOnly test for I/O errors since last system boot
Alexander Barton [Wed, 16 Dec 2009 18:19:10 +0000 (19:19 +0100)]
Only test for I/O errors since last system boot

9 years agoSys-Load: result in warning when load15 >2 (instead >1)
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 23:30:05 +0000 (00:30 +0100)]
Sys-Load: result in warning when load15 >2 (instead >1)

9 years agoUptime test: add operating system version
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 20:45:17 +0000 (21:45 +0100)]
Uptime test: add operating system version

9 years agoFix "Uptime" service test name ... dooh!
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 20:37:54 +0000 (21:37 +0100)]
Fix "Uptime" service test name ... dooh!

9 years agoNew "Uptime" test to return the system uptime
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 20:32:48 +0000 (21:32 +0100)]
New "Uptime" test to return the system uptime

Currently, this test always returns success and never any error ...

10 years agoRemove whitespaces from RAID status text
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 13:33:32 +0000 (14:33 +0100)]
Remove whitespaces from RAID status text

10 years agoUpdated Mac OS X package script to include new tests
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 13:19:45 +0000 (14:19 +0100)]
Updated Mac OS X package script to include new tests

10 years agoNew "RAID" test to check Apple Software-RAIDs
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 13:12:20 +0000 (14:12 +0100)]
New "RAID" test to check Apple Software-RAIDs

10 years agoDon't get irritated by our own log messages
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 12:56:25 +0000 (13:56 +0100)]
Don't get irritated by our own log messages

10 years agoNew "Disks" test to check for I/O errors on for Mac OS X
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 12:24:52 +0000 (13:24 +0100)]
New "Disks" test to check for I/O errors on for Mac OS X

10 years agoAdded Mac OS X PackageBuilder scripts
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 11:51:28 +0000 (12:51 +0100)]
Added Mac OS X PackageBuilder scripts

10 years agocurl of Mac OS X 10.5 doesn't support --data-urlencode
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 11:48:14 +0000 (12:48 +0100)]
curl of Mac OS X 10.5 doesn't support --data-urlencode

10 years agoNew make targets clean, distclean, check, dist, and distcheck
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 10:13:00 +0000 (11:13 +0100)]
New make targets clean, distclean, check, dist, and distcheck

10 years agoEnhance INSTALL document, especially for Mac OS X
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 10:05:55 +0000 (11:05 +0100)]
Enhance INSTALL document, especially for Mac OS X

Document location of /usr/local/etc/nagcollect.conf file and document
the launchd(8) commands to start and stop periodic execution of nagcollect
on Mac OS X.

10 years agoAdded Mac OS X launchd script
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 00:52:25 +0000 (01:52 +0100)]
Added Mac OS X launchd script

The launchd script for Mac OS X is installed to /Library/LaunchDaemons
and loaded during "make install-client".

10 years agoMove client-side test scripts to client/lib/tests
Alexander Barton [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 00:22:46 +0000 (01:22 +0100)]
Move client-side test scripts to client/lib/tests

10 years agoEnhance nagcollect to actually detect data
Alexander Barton [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 22:13:46 +0000 (23:13 +0100)]
Enhance nagcollect to actually detect data

nagcollect now executes test scripts and submits the result to
the NagCollect webservice. The only test script implemented at the
moment is "Sys-Load.tst" which tests the system load.

In addition, nagcollect is able to download new or updated test
scripts from the NagCollect webservice server.

10 years agoMake "make install-client" BSD-compatible and more portable
Alexander Barton [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 17:47:43 +0000 (18:47 +0100)]
Make "make install-client" BSD-compatible and more portable

10 years agonagcollect.php: actually use nagcollect.keys file
Alexander Barton [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 17:42:29 +0000 (18:42 +0100)]
nagcollect.php: actually use nagcollect.keys file

10 years agoInitial commit, first functionality implemented :-)
Alexander Barton [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 17:28:01 +0000 (18:28 +0100)]
Initial commit, first functionality implemented :-)

Nagios3 tools nagios-submit-host and nagios-submit-service are
implemented as well as the NagCollect webservice (nagcollect.php).
But the client component is lacking ...