Fix documentation of MotdPhrase length (#254)
authorshankari <shankari@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 3 Jan 2019 12:44:28 +0000 (04:44 -0800)
committerAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Thu, 3 Jan 2019 13:06:01 +0000 (14:06 +0100)
The max length is actually 126 (< 127), since the check errors out if
length >= 127. See
<https://github.com/ngircd/ngircd/blob/master/src/ngircd/conf.c#L1487>.

I didn't look through the history to see when the change happened. I
just happened to find during a migration that my 140 character MOTD
didn't work.

Update sample configuration file as well as the man page.

doc/sample-ngircd.conf.tmpl
man/ngircd.conf.5.tmpl

index bd2d408..7905da4 100644 (file)
@@ -51,7 +51,7 @@
        # be shown to all users connecting to the server:
        ;MotdFile = :ETCDIR:/ngircd.motd
 
-       # A simple Phrase (<256 chars) if you don't want to use a motd file.
+       # A simple Phrase (<127 chars) if you don't want to use a motd file.
        ;MotdPhrase = "Hello world!"
 
        # The name of the IRC network to which this server belongs. This name
index a83804c..fdfc2fb 100644 (file)
@@ -125,7 +125,7 @@ take effect when ngircd starts up or is instructed to re-read its
 configuration file.
 .TP
 \fBMotdPhrase\fR (string)
-A simple Phrase (<256 chars) if you don't want to use a MOTD file.
+A simple Phrase (<127 chars) if you don't want to use a MOTD file.
 .TP
 \fBNetwork\fR (string)
 The name of the IRC network to which this server belongs. This name is