Add a note not to use a percent sign ("%") in CloakHost variable CloakUserHost
authorAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Sat, 19 Mar 2011 16:02:39 +0000 (17:02 +0100)
committerAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Sat, 19 Mar 2011 16:04:57 +0000 (17:04 +0100)
The percent sign is reserved for future extensions, for example to
expand some variables like %H to a hash value of the real host name ...

Idea by kaFux in #ngircd.

doc/sample-ngircd.conf.tmpl
man/ngircd.conf.5.tmpl

index a2eeee9..e07b520 100644 (file)
        ;MaxNickLength = 9
 
        # Set this hostname for every client instead of the real one.
+       # Please note: don't use the percentage sign ("%"), it is reserved for
+       # future extensions!
        ;CloakHost = irc.example.net
 
        # Set every clients' user name to their nick name
index fa77c64..131fa29 100644 (file)
@@ -240,6 +240,12 @@ length!
 \fBCloakHost\fR
 Set this hostname for every client instead of the real one. Default: empty,
 don't change.
+.PP
+.RS
+.B Please note:
+.br
+Don't use the percentage sign ("%"), it is reserved for future extensions!
+.RE
 .TP
 \fBCloakUserToNick\fR
 Set every clients' user name to their nick name and hide the one supplied