Update doc/Protocol.txt for IRCv3 WEBIRC extension
authorAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Sun, 7 Oct 2018 21:54:13 +0000 (23:54 +0200)
committerAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Sun, 7 Oct 2018 21:55:30 +0000 (23:55 +0200)
See commit d0f9d3d92.

doc/Protocol.txt

index 6b3cfbc..b6ead9d 100644 (file)
@@ -176,7 +176,7 @@ channel mode). In this case <limit> should be "0".
 II.4 Update webchat/proxy client information
 
      Command: WEBIRC
-  Parameters: <password> <username> <hostname> <ip-address>
+  Parameters: <password> <username> <hostname> <ip-address> [<ignored>]
      Used by: unregistered clients only
 
 The WEBIRC command is used by some Web-to-IRC gateways to set the correct
@@ -186,6 +186,9 @@ first command sent to the server, even before USER and NICK commands!
 The <password> must be set in the server configuration file to prevent
 unauthorized clients to fake their identity; it is an arbitrary string.
 
+Optionally, a 5th parameter is accepted to comply with an IRCv3 extension,
+see <https://github.com/ircv3/ircv3-ideas/issues/12>, but ignored.
+
 
 II.5 Client character encoding conversion