ngircd.service: Use "forking" service type
authorAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Tue, 22 Jan 2013 23:41:02 +0000 (00:41 +0100)
committerAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Tue, 22 Jan 2013 23:44:16 +0000 (00:44 +0100)
Don't run ngIRCd in forground mode but let it daemonize itself. This
enhances the log output of "systemctl status ngircd.service", because
now ngIRCd doesn't print out its PID and timestamp on each log message
which is redundant: it becomes logged by systemd/journald already.

contrib/ngircd.service

index b5bab06..b71eef2 100644 (file)
@@ -3,8 +3,8 @@ Description=Next Generation IRC Daemon
 After=network.target
 
 [Service]
-# don't daemonize to simplify stuff
-ExecStart=/usr/sbin/ngircd -n
+Type=forking
+ExecStart=/usr/sbin/ngircd
 ExecReload=/bin/kill -HUP $MAINPID
 
 [Install]