ConfigScripts.git
3 years agoLet keychain(1) inherit forwarded agents master
Alexander Barton [Sun, 1 May 2016 17:39:42 +0000 (19:39 +0200)]
Let keychain(1) inherit forwarded agents

This is how the ax-zsh plugin handles it and makes sense :-)

3 years agoAdd README file
Alexander Barton [Thu, 20 Aug 2015 15:02:48 +0000 (17:02 +0200)]
Add README file

4 years agoOnly update ~/.last_reminder when reminders have been shown
Alexander Barton [Fri, 27 Mar 2015 15:52:03 +0000 (16:52 +0100)]
Only update ~/.last_reminder when reminders have been shown

4 years agoCorrectly test for icalBuddy(1) and remind(1)
Alexander Barton [Fri, 27 Mar 2015 15:51:32 +0000 (16:51 +0100)]
Correctly test for icalBuddy(1) and remind(1)

4 years agoLet tset(1) fix up TERM, don't do it "manually"
Alexander Barton [Wed, 28 Jan 2015 08:40:43 +0000 (09:40 +0100)]
Let tset(1) fix up TERM, don't do it "manually"

4 years agoAuto-select/deselect "xterm-256color" TERM setting
Alexander Barton [Mon, 26 Jan 2015 20:43:09 +0000 (21:43 +0100)]
Auto-select/deselect "xterm-256color" TERM setting

4 years agoMakefile: Implement "upgrade" target
Alexander Barton [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 16:23:36 +0000 (17:23 +0100)]
Makefile: Implement "upgrade" target

4 years agouser/bash_profile: Reorder debug messages
Alexander Barton [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 16:18:39 +0000 (17:18 +0100)]
user/bash_profile: Reorder debug messages

4 years agosys/profile: Update indentation of debug output
Alexander Barton [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 16:18:12 +0000 (17:18 +0100)]
sys/profile: Update indentation of debug output

4 years agoAdd more debug output to sys/bashrc
Alexander Barton [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 16:17:44 +0000 (17:17 +0100)]
Add more debug output to sys/bashrc

4 years agoPrepend /usr/local/opt/ccache/libexec to $PATH, when available
Alexander Barton [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 15:52:00 +0000 (16:52 +0100)]
Prepend /usr/local/opt/ccache/libexec to $PATH, when available

This is the path used for ccache(1) wrappers scripts installed by
Homebrew on OS X.

4 years agosys/profile: Reformat "for" loops
Alexander Barton [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 15:36:18 +0000 (16:36 +0100)]
sys/profile: Reformat "for" loops

(No functional changes)

4 years agoRead ~/.profile.user-1st after initializing basic environment
Alexander Barton [Thu, 8 Jan 2015 12:22:11 +0000 (13:22 +0100)]
Read ~/.profile.user-1st after initializing basic environment

This is required so that PATH, LOCAL_HOME, HOSTNAME, LC_xxx etc. are set
up correctly.

4 years agoAdd support for ~/.profile.user-1st file
Alexander Barton [Thu, 8 Jan 2015 12:14:54 +0000 (13:14 +0100)]
Add support for ~/.profile.user-1st file

4 years agoMake check for "interactive shells" more robust
Alexander Barton [Sat, 29 Nov 2014 22:36:29 +0000 (23:36 +0100)]
Make check for "interactive shells" more robust

4 years agoRead in "~/.bash_aliases", as Debian does by default
Alexander Barton [Sat, 29 Nov 2014 18:13:43 +0000 (19:13 +0100)]
Read in "~/.bash_aliases", as Debian does by default

4 years agobashrc: Map up & down to history
Alexander Barton [Thu, 27 Nov 2014 16:30:28 +0000 (17:30 +0100)]
bashrc: Map up & down to history

4 years agobashrc: source /usr/local/bin/virtualenvwrapper.sh
Alexander Barton [Thu, 27 Nov 2014 16:28:13 +0000 (17:28 +0100)]
bashrc: source /usr/local/bin/virtualenvwrapper.sh

4 years agoHonor UID/EUID better
Alexander Barton [Wed, 26 Nov 2014 14:45:05 +0000 (15:45 +0100)]
Honor UID/EUID better

4 years agoAdd "lastf" ("last foreign") alias
Alexander Barton [Mon, 22 Sep 2014 17:32:58 +0000 (19:32 +0200)]
Add "lastf" ("last foreign") alias

4 years agoPS1 shell prompt: only show current directory name
Alexander Barton [Sun, 24 Aug 2014 17:26:01 +0000 (19:26 +0200)]
PS1 shell prompt: only show current directory name

Don't show the full path name any more, because it can become very long
and too wide for an 80 character terminal ...

4 years agoRevert "user/bash_profile: enforce reading of profile files in tmux(1)"
Alexander Barton [Sun, 3 Aug 2014 00:41:20 +0000 (02:41 +0200)]
Revert "user/bash_profile: enforce reading of profile files in tmux(1)"

At least on Debian Linux, this isn't required and leads to multiple
includes of /etc/profile.

This reverts commit 8ff4f33ba62c64b0c4f07c4ce6b7a2a2bce08a5a.

4 years agoReminders: only create "~/.last_reminder" when "~" is writable
Alexander Barton [Mon, 21 Jul 2014 19:14:12 +0000 (21:14 +0200)]
Reminders: only create "~/.last_reminder" when "~" is writable

4 years agouser/bash_profile: enforce reading of profile files in tmux(1)
Alexander Barton [Sun, 15 Jun 2014 23:49:36 +0000 (01:49 +0200)]
user/bash_profile: enforce reading of profile files in tmux(1)

4 years agouser/bash_profile: don't forget to read /etc/profile
Alexander Barton [Sun, 15 Jun 2014 23:49:07 +0000 (01:49 +0200)]
user/bash_profile: don't forget to read /etc/profile

4 years agoBetter debug logging, display when script really starts
Alexander Barton [Sun, 15 Jun 2014 23:48:00 +0000 (01:48 +0200)]
Better debug logging, display when script really starts

5 years agosys/bashrc: Search for /etc/profile in ~/.etc/profile, too
Alexander Barton [Sat, 10 May 2014 15:47:24 +0000 (17:47 +0200)]
sys/bashrc: Search for /etc/profile in ~/.etc/profile, too

5 years agoOnly try to create local home directory if /usr/local/home already exists
Alexander Barton [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 15:21:23 +0000 (17:21 +0200)]
Only try to create local home directory if /usr/local/home already exists

5 years agoFix test for "ccache". Oops.
Alexander Barton [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 14:14:25 +0000 (16:14 +0200)]
Fix test for "ccache". Oops.

5 years agoSetup "PIP_DOWNLOAD_CACHE" using "XDG_CACHE_HOME"
Alexander Barton [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 13:52:18 +0000 (15:52 +0200)]
Setup "PIP_DOWNLOAD_CACHE" using "XDG_CACHE_HOME"

5 years agoSetup environment for local storage before reading in further scripts
Alexander Barton [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 13:48:51 +0000 (15:48 +0200)]
Setup environment for local storage before reading in further scripts

5 years agoSetup environment for Python "pip", if installed
Alexander Barton [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 18:24:29 +0000 (20:24 +0200)]
Setup environment for Python "pip", if installed

5 years agoCorrectly detect encoding from "LC_CTYPE" and "LANG"
Alexander Barton [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 18:05:25 +0000 (20:05 +0200)]
Correctly detect encoding from "LC_CTYPE" and "LANG"

5 years agoUse "type -t" to test for tools.
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:49:15 +0000 (19:49 +0200)]
Use "type -t" to test for tools.

This further enahces commit 2f959f4d and fixes a bug when "__git_ps1"
is not available on the system.

5 years agoReminders: Show them all 60 minutes, not every minute! Argl.
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:21:30 +0000 (16:21 +0200)]
Reminders: Show them all 60 minutes, not every minute! Argl.

5 years agoOnly call keychain(1) when shell is interactive
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:16:18 +0000 (16:16 +0200)]
Only call keychain(1) when shell is interactive

5 years agoAdd support for keychain(1) ssh-agent and gpg-agent helper
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 13:43:00 +0000 (15:43 +0200)]
Add support for keychain(1) ssh-agent and gpg-agent helper

5 years agoFix comment in user/bash_logout
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 13:09:13 +0000 (15:09 +0200)]
Fix comment in user/bash_logout

5 years agoUnset temporary/local variables
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:50:19 +0000 (14:50 +0200)]
Unset temporary/local variables

5 years agoDon't set "ME" variable, use "HOSTNAME" instead
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:49:31 +0000 (14:49 +0200)]
Don't set "ME" variable, use "HOSTNAME" instead

5 years agoRemove outdated alias ","
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:48:24 +0000 (14:48 +0200)]
Remove outdated alias ","

5 years agoShow reminders (icalBuddy, remind) once every 60 minutes
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:47:11 +0000 (14:47 +0200)]
Show reminders (icalBuddy, remind) once every 60 minutes

5 years agoUse "type" to test for tools
Alexander Barton [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:45:54 +0000 (14:45 +0200)]
Use "type" to test for tools

5 years agoFix test for "root" user
Alexander Barton [Sun, 23 Mar 2014 13:02:12 +0000 (14:02 +0100)]
Fix test for "root" user

5 years agoDon't set $USER and $UID
Alexander Barton [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 14:01:24 +0000 (15:01 +0100)]
Don't set $USER and $UID

$UID is unsed, and $USER can be replaced by $LOGNAME.

Reason: our own setting of $UID and $USER fails on systems that only
provide a very limited id(1) binary; like A/UX ...

5 years agoEnhance icalBuddy output
Alexander Barton [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 13:52:12 +0000 (14:52 +0100)]
Enhance icalBuddy output

- add list of due tasks
- update output format (don't use grep any more)

5 years agoUse local variables to customize icalBuddy
Alexander Barton [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 13:51:22 +0000 (14:51 +0100)]
Use local variables to customize icalBuddy

5 years agoDo not set LC_MESSAGES=C any longer; let the user decide
Alexander Barton [Mon, 3 Feb 2014 19:57:02 +0000 (20:57 +0100)]
Do not set LC_MESSAGES=C any longer; let the user decide

5 years agoFix detection of "desktop sessions"
Alexander Barton [Mon, 3 Feb 2014 19:36:57 +0000 (20:36 +0100)]
Fix detection of "desktop sessions"

5 years agoBetter detect encoding of the terminal
Alexander Barton [Mon, 3 Feb 2014 19:25:03 +0000 (20:25 +0100)]
Better detect encoding of the terminal

Note: You should make sure that the system does not set a LANG variable
by default (for example in /etc/default/locale)!

5 years agoAdd history index to bash prompt
Alexander Barton [Mon, 6 Jan 2014 15:59:21 +0000 (16:59 +0100)]
Add history index to bash prompt

5 years agoInstall root-owned files with root group, too
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:41:03 +0000 (16:41 +0100)]
Install root-owned files with root group, too

5 years agoFix Copy_File function, "cp --preserve=timestamps" isn't portable
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:37:45 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
Fix Copy_File function, "cp --preserve=timestamps" isn't portable

5 years agoinstall.sh: Don't handle root user specially
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:31:33 +0000 (16:31 +0100)]
install.sh: Don't handle root user specially

5 years agoInsert more "Msg" commands into install.sh
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:29:57 +0000 (16:29 +0100)]
Insert more "Msg" commands into install.sh

5 years agoInstall system files locally, when already present there
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:18:29 +0000 (16:18 +0100)]
Install system files locally, when already present there

5 years agoinstall.sh: Try to preserve timestamps
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:16:23 +0000 (16:16 +0100)]
install.sh: Try to preserve timestamps

5 years agoinstall /etc/skel/.bash_logout with correct owner
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:15:52 +0000 (16:15 +0100)]
install /etc/skel/.bash_logout with correct owner

5 years agoUpdate shell history handling
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:13:48 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
Update shell history handling

Save more history to disk, and enable shell options "histverify"
and "histreedit".

5 years agosys/bashrc: Fix comment
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 14:41:26 +0000 (15:41 +0100)]
sys/bashrc: Fix comment

5 years agoEnable bash-completion only when POSIX mode is not active
Alexander Barton [Fri, 31 May 2013 11:11:32 +0000 (13:11 +0200)]
Enable bash-completion only when POSIX mode is not active

6 years agoOnly add optional paths to PATH if .not_in_path does not exist
Alexander Barton [Sun, 6 Jan 2013 17:22:35 +0000 (18:22 +0100)]
Only add optional paths to PATH if .not_in_path does not exist

6 years agosys/profile: Only call "tset" when it is available
Alexander Barton [Tue, 25 Dec 2012 21:26:34 +0000 (22:26 +0100)]
sys/profile: Only call "tset" when it is available

6 years agoinstall.sh: Don't do "skel" installation when called with "--local"
Alexander Barton [Tue, 25 Dec 2012 21:26:02 +0000 (22:26 +0100)]
install.sh: Don't do "skel" installation when called with "--local"

6 years agoEnhance guessing if UTF-8 or ISO8859-1 encoding should be used
Alexander Barton [Tue, 18 Dec 2012 20:16:04 +0000 (21:16 +0100)]
Enhance guessing if UTF-8 or ISO8859-1 encoding should be used

6 years agoAdd /usr/ucb to our "PATCH check list"
Alexander Barton [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 20:26:49 +0000 (22:26 +0200)]
Add /usr/ucb to our "PATCH check list"

Used by Apple A/UX.

6 years agoDon't use "mkdir -p": very old systems don't support it ...
Alexander Barton [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 20:21:00 +0000 (22:21 +0200)]
Don't use "mkdir -p": very old systems don't support it ...

Tested with Apple A/UX 3.1

6 years agoAlways initialize terminal using tset in interactive sessions
Alexander Barton [Sat, 25 Aug 2012 21:08:14 +0000 (23:08 +0200)]
Always initialize terminal using tset in interactive sessions

This makes sure, that TERM will have a value that is understood by the
local system.

6 years agoSearch for bash_completion in /usr/local/etc
Alexander Barton [Sat, 25 Aug 2012 21:06:12 +0000 (23:06 +0200)]
Search for bash_completion in /usr/local/etc

This is where it is stored on FreeBSD using packages, for example.

6 years agoDon't display error messages of icalBuddy
Alexander Barton [Wed, 13 Jun 2012 23:08:27 +0000 (01:08 +0200)]
Don't display error messages of icalBuddy

6 years agoInclude profiles in /usr/local/etc/profile.d as well as in /etc/profile.d
Alexander Barton [Fri, 8 Jun 2012 16:24:54 +0000 (18:24 +0200)]
Include profiles in /usr/local/etc/profile.d as well as in /etc/profile.d

6 years agoMake sure /usr/local/[s]bin is first when using path_helper
Alexander Barton [Fri, 8 Jun 2012 16:24:15 +0000 (18:24 +0200)]
Make sure /usr/local/[s]bin is first when using path_helper

And only add /usr/local/sbin when other sbin directories are
already included in the path_helper generated path.

7 years agoCheck /usr/share/php/bin as optional search path component
Alexander Barton [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 20:29:45 +0000 (21:29 +0100)]
Check /usr/share/php/bin as optional search path component

7 years agoSearch ".remind" file in the home directory
Alexander Barton [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 20:28:46 +0000 (21:28 +0100)]
Search ".remind" file in the home directory

And slightly enhance ("filter") output.

7 years agoFix last commit: incorrect bash syntax :-/
Alexander Barton [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 08:41:44 +0000 (09:41 +0100)]
Fix last commit: incorrect bash syntax :-/

(This fixes commit 27b9c114)

7 years agoOnly set LC_MESSAGES="C" for non-X11 sessions
Alexander Barton [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 23:47:08 +0000 (00:47 +0100)]
Only set LC_MESSAGES="C" for non-X11 sessions

7 years agoAdd support for ~/.bashrc.user-1st file
Alexander Barton [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:53:50 +0000 (19:53 +0200)]
Add support for ~/.bashrc.user-1st file

7 years agoSuppress "warning: setlocale: LC_CTYPE: cannot change locale (...)"
Alexander Barton [Sun, 26 Jun 2011 14:06:21 +0000 (16:06 +0200)]
Suppress "warning: setlocale: LC_CTYPE: cannot change locale (...)"

8 years agoMake locale setting much more smarter
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 20:26:19 +0000 (22:26 +0200)]
Make locale setting much more smarter

Now UTF8 terminals are detected much better.

8 years agoSet ccache paths using the "regular" mechanism
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 20:00:00 +0000 (22:00 +0200)]
Set ccache paths using the "regular" mechanism

8 years agoInitialize some "system local" directories
Alexander Barton [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 19:57:51 +0000 (21:57 +0200)]
Initialize some "system local" directories

Create /usr/local/home/$USER and set LOCAL_HOME;
Create $LOCAL_HOME/{.cache|.ccache} and set XDG_CACHE_HOME, CCACHE_DIR.

8 years agoCopy user files to /etc/skel directory, if it is writeable
Alexander Barton [Thu, 7 Apr 2011 13:09:14 +0000 (15:09 +0200)]
Copy user files to /etc/skel directory, if it is writeable

8 years agoOnly setup safe options with elder bash versions
Alexander Barton [Sun, 27 Feb 2011 18:09:26 +0000 (19:09 +0100)]
Only setup safe options with elder bash versions

8 years agoMake sure that "mount" emits no error messages
Alexander Barton [Sun, 27 Feb 2011 17:59:29 +0000 (18:59 +0100)]
Make sure that "mount" emits no error messages

8 years agoDon't use "hostname -s"
Alexander Barton [Sun, 27 Feb 2011 17:59:00 +0000 (18:59 +0100)]
Don't use "hostname -s"

It is not supported on Apple A/UX.

8 years agoMake sure that "type manpath" emits no error messages
Alexander Barton [Sun, 27 Feb 2011 17:58:04 +0000 (18:58 +0100)]
Make sure that "type manpath" emits no error messages

8 years agoNew make target "install-local": install to ~/.etc
Alexander Barton [Sun, 27 Feb 2011 17:56:48 +0000 (18:56 +0100)]
New make target "install-local": install to ~/.etc

8 years agoEnable color on xterm-256color terminal
Alexander Barton [Sat, 26 Feb 2011 16:00:06 +0000 (17:00 +0100)]
Enable color on xterm-256color terminal

8 years agoCall icalBuddy not as root; and adjust bullet
Alexander Barton [Wed, 16 Feb 2011 12:23:38 +0000 (13:23 +0100)]
Call icalBuddy not as root; and adjust bullet

8 years agoOnly check quota(1) if a filesystem with quotas is mounted
Alexander Barton [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 09:52:35 +0000 (11:52 +0200)]
Only check quota(1) if a filesystem with quotas is mounted

8 years agoAdded support for icalBuddy(1)
Alexander Barton [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 09:50:37 +0000 (11:50 +0200)]
Added support for icalBuddy(1)

icalBuddy has a higher priority than remind(1); if the first one
is found, the latter won't be used.

8 years agoOnly export PATH if it is set by this script; don't export MANPATH
Alexander Barton [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 09:48:48 +0000 (11:48 +0200)]
Only export PATH if it is set by this script; don't export MANPATH

This solves the problem, that manpath(1) on Mac OS X only is in effect
if MANPATH is not set at all.

8 years agoAdded support for remind(1)
Alexander Barton [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 12:58:50 +0000 (14:58 +0200)]
Added support for remind(1)

8 years agoOnly setup MANPATH if manpath(1) is not available
Alexander Barton [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 11:41:00 +0000 (13:41 +0200)]
Only setup MANPATH if manpath(1) is not available

8 years agoFix test for __git_ps1 and check for it after handling bash-completion
Alexander Barton [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 11:22:09 +0000 (13:22 +0200)]
Fix test for __git_ps1 and check for it after handling bash-completion

8 years agoinstall.sh: don't set owner (call chown) if not necessary
Alexander Barton [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 11:03:22 +0000 (13:03 +0200)]
install.sh: don't set owner (call chown) if not necessary

8 years agoList possible terminal attributes and colors
Alexander Barton [Wed, 21 Jul 2010 13:18:35 +0000 (15:18 +0200)]
List possible terminal attributes and colors

8 years agoShorten path displayed in default bash prompt, if necessary
Alexander Barton [Wed, 21 Jul 2010 13:15:25 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
Shorten path displayed in default bash prompt, if necessary

8 years agoUse colors in default bash prompt (PS1)
Alexander Barton [Wed, 21 Jul 2010 13:12:44 +0000 (15:12 +0200)]
Use colors in default bash prompt (PS1)

8 years agoSet color-related variables if a color-capable terminal is detected
Alexander Barton [Wed, 21 Jul 2010 13:10:12 +0000 (15:10 +0200)]
Set color-related variables if a color-capable terminal is detected