Correctly handle return code of Handle_Write()
authorAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 23:28:49 +0000 (01:28 +0200)
committerAlexander Barton <alex@barton.de>
Fri, 23 Aug 2013 19:40:51 +0000 (21:40 +0200)
commit309122017ebc6fff039a7cab1b82f632853d82d5
tree3fed587673ec9d8476e8edabac40c1d286e96f49
parent8f530eb3154c7d62201c28a53fac5594a956b447
Correctly handle return code of Handle_Write()

There have been code paths that ignored the return code of Handle_Write()
when sending "notice auth" messages to new clients connecting to the
server. But because Handle_Write() would have closed the client connection
again if an error occurred, this would have resulted in new errors and
assert()'s later on that could have crashed the server (denial of service).

Only setups having the configuration option "NoticeAuth" enabled are
affected, which is not the default.

CVE-2013-5580.
src/ngircd/conn.c